Thursday, July 11, 2013

Angel of the Cove by Sandra Robbins

The Smoky Mountain Dreams series is set in Cades Cove, now a part of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. When I toured the park a few years ago, I wondered what life was like for the people who built the churches, the mill, and the houses. Angel of the Cove answers that question and more. For example, I discovered that faith played a significant role in the lives of the Cove residents. The heroine, Anna Prentiss, comes to the Cove to intern with the local midwife.

Here's the publisher's teaser: "Anna Prentiss has never wanted to be anything but a nurse. Before she can start school in New York, however, her brother sends her to Cades Cove, deep in the Smoky Mountains, to spend a summer apprenticing to the local midwife. Anna is determined to prove herself and then head to the big city.

But nothing could have prepared Anna for the beauty of the Cove, or the community and friendships she finds there. And she certainly wasn’t prepared for Simon Martin, the handsome young minister, or the feelings he arouses in her. Has God’s plan for Anna changed? Or is she just starting to hear Him clearly?"

The main characters, Anna and Simon, struggle throughout the story with the question of God's will for their lives. I enjoyed the story mainly because of the culture of the Cove. These independent people came together to help one another in times of crisis. Granny Lawson, the wise old midwife, kept tabs on everyone and provided some medical services besides midwifery. Other reviewers have said the story is "predictable." I just enjoyed the ride and the author's skill at crafting characters and making me feel like I was there.

Read about the history of Cades Cove here.

Disclaimer: This book was not provided to me by the publisher or the author.
Image source:

No comments: